Private nonprofit · Brooklyn, NY
St. Joseph's University-New York
3,070 full-time students in fall 2024 and no institutionally controlled housing reported for 2024-25. Every student who doesn't live at home rents in the private market.
Enrollment
Of 3,899 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,173 were undergraduates and 726 graduate students. 15% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 151 from fall 2023 (−3.7%).
Housing the college controls
The school told IPEDS it offers no institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. Demand here is mostly from students who rent near campus or commute.
What students pay
No housing charge was reported. The financial aid office budgets $10,000 a year for food and housing off campus away from family.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
At 3,899 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, St. Joseph's University-New York ranks number 37 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.
Other campuses in Brooklyn
- CUNY Brooklyn College: 9,572 full-time, 0 beds
- CUNY New York City College of Technology: 9,168 full-time, 0 beds
- Pratt Institute-Main: 5,128 full-time, 2,135 beds
- St. Francis College: 4,398 full-time, 100 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 3,899 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 4,050 |
| Full-time students | 3,070 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 3,173 (2,870) |
| Graduate students | 726 |
| Exclusively online | 15% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | none |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 0 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 0 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | not reported |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $10,000 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 195544. Kings County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.