Public · Brooklyn, NY

CUNY Brooklyn College

9,572 full-time students in fall 2024 and no institutionally controlled housing reported for 2024-25. Every student who doesn't live at home rents in the private market.

0 college-controlled beds (0 per 100 full-time) 9,572 full-time students beyond them
14,390total students, fall 2024
9,572full-time
n/ano 2024-25 housing charge reported
$22,260aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 14,390 students enrolled in fall 2024, 11,562 were undergraduates and 2,828 graduate students. 14% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 455 from fall 2023 (+3.3%).

Housing the college controls

The school told IPEDS it offers no institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. Demand here is mostly from students who rent near campus or commute.

What students pay

No housing charge was reported. The financial aid office budgets $22,260 a year for food and housing off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 14,390 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, CUNY Brooklyn College ranks number 12 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Other campuses in Brooklyn

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202414,390
Total enrollment, fall 202313,935
Full-time students9,572
Undergraduates (full-time)11,562 (8,248)
Graduate students2,828
Exclusively online14%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25none
Capacity, 2023-240
Beds per 100 full-time students0
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campusnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$22,260
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 190549. Kings County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.