Private for-profit · New York, NY

School of Visual Arts

3,684 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 1,214: about 33 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,470 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

1,214 college-controlled beds (33 per 100 full-time) 2,470 full-time students beyond them
3,812total students, fall 2024
3,684full-time
$21,000typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$25,400aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 3,812 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,255 were undergraduates and 557 graduate students. 0% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 204 from fall 2023 (−5.1%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 1,214 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 86 beds from the year before (1,128 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $21,000 for the academic year, roughly $2,333 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $25,400 for food and housing on campus and $25,400 for a student living off campus away from family, the same amount.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 3,812 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, School of Visual Arts ranks number 46 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Other campuses in New York

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20243,812
Total enrollment, fall 20234,016
Full-time students3,684
Undergraduates (full-time)3,255 (3,198)
Graduate students557
Exclusively online0%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-251,214
Capacity, 2023-241,128
Beds per 100 full-time students33
Typical housing charge, academic year$21,000
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$25,400
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$25,400
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 197151. New York County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.