Public · New York, NY

CUNY Bernard M Baruch College

15,015 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 288: about 1.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 14,727 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

288 college-controlled beds (1.9 per 100 full-time) 14,727 full-time students beyond them
20,081total students, fall 2024
15,015full-time
$14,500typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$22,260aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 20,081 students enrolled in fall 2024, 16,496 were undergraduates and 3,585 graduate students. 4% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 383 from fall 2023 (+1.9%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 288 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $14,500 for the academic year, roughly $1,611 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $18,832 for food and housing on campus and $22,260 for a student living off campus away from family, $3,428 more.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 20,081 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, CUNY Bernard M Baruch College ranks number 6 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Other campuses in New York

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202420,081
Total enrollment, fall 202319,698
Full-time students15,015
Undergraduates (full-time)16,496 (13,192)
Graduate students3,585
Exclusively online4%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25288
Capacity, 2023-24288
Beds per 100 full-time students1.9
Typical housing charge, academic year$14,500
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$18,832
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$22,260
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 190512. New York County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.