Public · Jersey City, NJ

New Jersey City University

3,608 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 415: about 11.5 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,193 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

415 college-controlled beds (11.5 per 100 full-time) 3,193 full-time students beyond them
5,429total students, fall 2024
3,608full-time
$18,116combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$20,000aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 5,429 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,871 were undergraduates and 1,558 graduate students. 31% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 404 from fall 2023 (−6.9%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 415 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 202 beds from the year before (617 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $18,116 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $20,000 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 5,429 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 20 New Jersey campuses on this site, New Jersey City University ranks number 15 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New Jersey table.

Other campuses in Jersey City

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20245,429
Total enrollment, fall 20235,833
Full-time students3,608
Undergraduates (full-time)3,871 (3,308)
Graduate students1,558
Exclusively online31%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25415
Capacity, 2023-24617
Beds per 100 full-time students11.5
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$16,844
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$20,000
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$18,116

IPEDS unit ID 185129. Hudson County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.