Public · Houston, TX
University of Houston-Downtown
6,028 full-time students in fall 2024 and no institutionally controlled housing reported for 2024-25. Every student who doesn't live at home rents in the private market.
Enrollment
Of 13,730 students enrolled in fall 2024, 12,622 were undergraduates and 1,108 graduate students. 36% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 375 from fall 2023 (−2.7%).
Housing the college controls
The school told IPEDS it offers no institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. Demand here is mostly from students who rent near campus or commute.
What students pay
No housing charge was reported. The financial aid office budgets $10,176 a year for food and housing off campus away from family.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
Most students here aren't full-time, so the campus misses the "majority full-time" test that comes with the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 50 Texas campuses on this site, University of Houston-Downtown ranks number 25 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Texas table.
Other campuses in Houston
- Houston City College: 17,150 full-time, 0 beds
- Rice University: 8,332 full-time, 3,475 beds
- Texas Southern University: 7,366 full-time, 2,081 beds
- The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston: 3,367 full-time, 0 beds
- University of Houston: 35,889 full-time, 8,397 beds
- University of Houston-Clear Lake: 3,918 full-time, 552 beds
- University of St Thomas: 3,029 full-time, 565 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 13,730 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 14,105 |
| Full-time students | 6,028 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 12,622 (5,905) |
| Graduate students | 1,108 |
| Exclusively online | 36% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | none |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 0 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 0 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | not reported |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $10,176 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 225432. Harris County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.