Private nonprofit · Harrisburg, PA

Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

3,361 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 228: about 6.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,133 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

228 college-controlled beds (6.8 per 100 full-time) 3,133 full-time students beyond them
3,650total students, fall 2024
3,361full-time
$8,400typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$11,040aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 3,650 students enrolled in fall 2024, 706 were undergraduates and 2,944 graduate students. 9% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 92 from fall 2023 (+2.6%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 228 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 3 beds from the year before (231 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $8,400 for the academic year, roughly $933 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $11,040 for food and housing on campus and $11,040 for a student living off campus away from family, the same amount.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 3,650 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 31 Pennsylvania campuses on this site, Harrisburg University of Science and Technology ranks number 17 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Pennsylvania table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20243,650
Total enrollment, fall 20233,558
Full-time students3,361
Undergraduates (full-time)706 (528)
Graduate students2,944
Exclusively online9%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25228
Capacity, 2023-24231
Beds per 100 full-time students6.8
Typical housing charge, academic year$8,400
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$11,040
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$11,040
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 446640. Dauphin County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.