Public · Queens, NY

CUNY Queens College

10,949 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 510: about 4.7 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 10,439 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

510 college-controlled beds (4.7 per 100 full-time) 10,439 full-time students beyond them
15,965total students, fall 2024
10,949full-time
$12,800typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$22,260aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 15,965 students enrolled in fall 2024, 13,464 were undergraduates and 2,501 graduate students. 6% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 516 from fall 2023 (−3.1%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 510 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $12,800 for the academic year, roughly $1,422 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $17,132 for food and housing on campus and $22,260 for a student living off campus away from family, $5,128 more.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 15,965 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, CUNY Queens College ranks number 11 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Other campuses in Queens

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202415,965
Total enrollment, fall 202316,481
Full-time students10,949
Undergraduates (full-time)13,464 (9,942)
Graduate students2,501
Exclusively online6%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25510
Capacity, 2023-24510
Beds per 100 full-time students4.7
Typical housing charge, academic year$12,800
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$17,132
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$22,260
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 190664. Queens County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.