Private nonprofit · Hamilton, NY

Colgate University

3,178 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 2,888: about 90.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 290 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

2,888 college-controlled beds (90.9 per 100 full-time) 290 full-time students beyond them
3,211total students, fall 2024
3,178full-time
$8,504typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 3,211 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,193 were undergraduates and 18 graduate students. 0% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 65 from fall 2023 (+2.1%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 2,888 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 70 beds from the year before (2,958 in 2023-24). The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $8,504 for the academic year, roughly $945 a month spread over nine months. Food added $9,106.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 3,211 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, Colgate University ranks number 64 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20243,211
Total enrollment, fall 20233,146
Full-time students3,178
Undergraduates (full-time)3,193 (3,168)
Graduate students18
Exclusively online0%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-252,888
Capacity, 2023-242,958
Beds per 100 full-time students90.9
Typical housing charge, academic year$8,504
Typical food charge, academic year$9,106
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$17,610
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 190099. Madison County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.