Private nonprofit · Garden City, NY

Adelphi University

6,362 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 1,260: about 19.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 5,102 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

1,260 college-controlled beds (19.8 per 100 full-time) 5,102 full-time students beyond them
7,603total students, fall 2024
6,362full-time
$20,028combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$18,934aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 7,603 students enrolled in fall 2024, 5,325 were undergraduates and 2,278 graduate students. 9% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 197 from fall 2023 (+2.7%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 1,260 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $20,028 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $18,934 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 7,603 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 65 New York campuses on this site, Adelphi University ranks number 28 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the New York table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20247,603
Total enrollment, fall 20237,406
Full-time students6,362
Undergraduates (full-time)5,325 (5,141)
Graduate students2,278
Exclusively online9%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-251,260
Capacity, 2023-241,260
Beds per 100 full-time students19.8
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$20,028
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$18,934
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$20,028

IPEDS unit ID 188429. Nassau County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.