Public · Kalamazoo, MI
Western Michigan University
12,338 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,129: about 33.5 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 8,209 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.
Enrollment
Of 16,744 students enrolled in fall 2024, 13,027 were undergraduates and 3,717 graduate students. 13% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 51 from fall 2023 (+0.3%).
Housing the college controls
IPEDS counts 4,129 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 646 beds from the year before (4,775 in 2023-24).
What students pay
The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $12,174 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $12,174 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
With 16,744 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 19 Michigan campuses on this site, Western Michigan University ranks number 6 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Michigan table.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 16,744 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 16,693 |
| Full-time students | 12,338 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 13,027 (10,990) |
| Graduate students | 3,717 |
| Exclusively online | 13% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | 4,129 |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 4,775 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 33.5 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | not reported |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | $12,174 |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $12,174 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | $12,174 |
IPEDS unit ID 172699. Kalamazoo County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.