Private nonprofit · Detroit, MI

University of Detroit Mercy

4,038 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 965: about 23.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,073 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

965 college-controlled beds (23.9 per 100 full-time) 3,073 full-time students beyond them
5,587total students, fall 2024
4,038full-time
$10,652combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$12,602aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 5,587 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,422 were undergraduates and 2,165 graduate students. 2% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 59 from fall 2023 (+1.1%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 965 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $10,652 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $12,602 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 5,587 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 19 Michigan campuses on this site, University of Detroit Mercy ranks number 16 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Michigan table.

Other campuses in Detroit

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20245,587
Total enrollment, fall 20235,528
Full-time students4,038
Undergraduates (full-time)3,422 (2,272)
Graduate students2,165
Exclusively online2%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25965
Capacity, 2023-24965
Beds per 100 full-time students23.9
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$10,952
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$12,602
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$10,652

IPEDS unit ID 169716. Wayne County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.