Public · Fort Wayne, IN

Purdue University Fort Wayne

5,041 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 1,537: about 30.5 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,504 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

1,537 college-controlled beds (30.5 per 100 full-time) 3,504 full-time students beyond them
7,206total students, fall 2024
5,041full-time
$7,294typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$11,669aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 7,206 students enrolled in fall 2024, 6,489 were undergraduates and 717 graduate students. 8% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 1,668 from fall 2023 (−18.8%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 1,537 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 58 beds from the year before (1,595 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $7,294 for the academic year, roughly $810 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $11,669 for food and housing on campus and $11,669 for a student living off campus away from family, the same amount.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 7,206 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 13 Indiana campuses on this site, Purdue University Fort Wayne ranks number 7 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Indiana table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20247,206
Total enrollment, fall 20238,874
Full-time students5,041
Undergraduates (full-time)6,489 (4,711)
Graduate students717
Exclusively online8%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-251,537
Capacity, 2023-241,595
Beds per 100 full-time students30.5
Typical housing charge, academic year$7,294
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$11,669
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$11,669
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 151102. Allen County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.