Public · South Bend, IN

Indiana University-South Bend

3,271 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 387: about 11.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,884 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

387 college-controlled beds (11.8 per 100 full-time) 2,884 full-time students beyond them
4,631total students, fall 2024
3,271full-time
$10,184combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$10,972aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 4,631 students enrolled in fall 2024, 4,083 were undergraduates and 548 graduate students. 16% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 185 from fall 2023 (+4.2%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 387 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 1 beds from the year before (386 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $10,184 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $10,972 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 4,631 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 13 Indiana campuses on this site, Indiana University-South Bend ranks number 9 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Indiana table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20244,631
Total enrollment, fall 20234,446
Full-time students3,271
Undergraduates (full-time)4,083 (3,080)
Graduate students548
Exclusively online16%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25387
Capacity, 2023-24386
Beds per 100 full-time students11.8
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$10,184
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$10,972
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$10,184

IPEDS unit ID 151342. St. Joseph County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.