Public · Indianapolis, IN
Indiana University-Indianapolis
17,255 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 2,030: about 11.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 15,225 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.
Enrollment
Of 22,534 students enrolled in fall 2024, 14,504 were undergraduates and 8,030 graduate students. 13% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 2,963 from fall 2023 (−11.6%).
Housing the college controls
IPEDS counts 2,030 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 434 beds from the year before (2,464 in 2023-24).
What students pay
The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $13,308 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $13,308 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
With 22,534 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 13 Indiana campuses on this site, Indiana University-Indianapolis ranks number 3 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Indiana table.
Other campuses in Indianapolis
- Butler University: 4,728 full-time, 2,413 beds
- University of Indianapolis: 3,544 full-time, 2,373 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 22,534 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 25,497 |
| Full-time students | 17,255 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 14,504 (12,160) |
| Graduate students | 8,030 |
| Exclusively online | 13% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | 2,030 |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 2,464 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 11.8 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | not reported |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | $13,308 |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $13,308 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | $13,308 |
IPEDS unit ID 151111. Marion County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.