Public · Champaign, IL

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

49,610 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 15,736: about 31.7 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 33,874 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

15,736 college-controlled beds (31.7 per 100 full-time) 33,874 full-time students beyond them
59,238total students, fall 2024
49,610full-time
$14,020combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 59,238 students enrolled in fall 2024, 37,140 were undergraduates and 22,098 graduate students. 16% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 2,675 from fall 2023 (+4.7%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 15,736 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 30 beds from the year before (15,766 in 2023-24). The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $14,020 for the academic year.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 59,238 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 21 Illinois campuses on this site, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign ranks first by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Illinois table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202459,238
Total enrollment, fall 202356,563
Full-time students49,610
Undergraduates (full-time)37,140 (36,104)
Graduate students22,098
Exclusively online16%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-2515,736
Capacity, 2023-2415,766
Beds per 100 full-time students31.7
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$14,522
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$14,020

IPEDS unit ID 145637. Champaign County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.