Private nonprofit · Chicago, IL

University of Chicago

16,964 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,572: about 27 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 12,392 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

4,572 college-controlled beds (27 per 100 full-time) 12,392 full-time students beyond them
18,566total students, fall 2024
16,964full-time
$20,109combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 18,566 students enrolled in fall 2024, 7,598 were undergraduates and 10,968 graduate students. 1% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 227 from fall 2023 (+1.2%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 4,572 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 4 beds from the year before (4,568 in 2023-24). The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $20,109 for the academic year.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 18,566 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 21 Illinois campuses on this site, University of Chicago ranks number 6 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Illinois table.

Other campuses in Chicago

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202418,566
Total enrollment, fall 202318,339
Full-time students16,964
Undergraduates (full-time)7,598 (7,578)
Graduate students10,968
Exclusively online1%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-254,572
Capacity, 2023-244,568
Beds per 100 full-time students27
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$20,109
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$20,109

IPEDS unit ID 144050. Cook County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.