Private nonprofit · Coral Gables, FL

University of Miami

18,584 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,615: about 24.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 13,969 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

4,615 college-controlled beds (24.8 per 100 full-time) 13,969 full-time students beyond them
19,852total students, fall 2024
18,584full-time
$23,790combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$24,650aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 19,852 students enrolled in fall 2024, 13,250 were undergraduates and 6,602 graduate students. 5% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 259 from fall 2023 (+1.3%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 4,615 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 53 beds from the year before (4,668 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $23,790 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $24,650 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 19,852 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 42 Florida campuses on this site, University of Miami ranks number 9 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Florida table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202419,852
Total enrollment, fall 202319,593
Full-time students18,584
Undergraduates (full-time)13,250 (12,706)
Graduate students6,602
Exclusively online5%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-254,615
Capacity, 2023-244,668
Beds per 100 full-time students24.8
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$23,790
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$24,650
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$23,790

IPEDS unit ID 135726. Miami-Dade County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.