Public · Tallahassee, FL
Tallahassee State College
7,601 full-time students in fall 2024 and no institutionally controlled housing reported for 2024-25. Every student who doesn't live at home rents in the private market.
Enrollment
Of 12,455 students enrolled in fall 2024, 12,455 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 35% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 756 from fall 2023 (+6.5%).
Housing the college controls
The school told IPEDS it offers no institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. Demand here is mostly from students who rent near campus or commute.
What students pay
No housing charge was reported. The financial aid office budgets $11,100 a year for food and housing off campus away from family.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
With 12,455 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 42 Florida campuses on this site, Tallahassee State College ranks number 17 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Florida table.
Other campuses in Tallahassee
- Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University: 8,035 full-time, 2,691 beds
- Florida State University: 35,992 full-time, 6,707 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 12,455 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 11,699 |
| Full-time students | 7,601 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 12,455 (7,601) |
| Graduate students | 0 |
| Exclusively online | 35% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | none |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 0 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 0 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | not reported |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $11,100 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 137759. Leon County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.