Public · Jacksonville, FL
Florida State College at Jacksonville
7,051 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 55: about 0.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 6,996 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.
Enrollment
Of 23,556 students enrolled in fall 2024, 23,556 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 38% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 3,026 from fall 2023 (+14.7%).
Housing the college controls
IPEDS counts 55 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.
What students pay
The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $7,200 for the academic year, roughly $800 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $8,496 for food and housing on campus and $8,946 for a student living off campus away from family, $450 more.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
Most students here aren't full-time, so the campus misses the "majority full-time" test that comes with the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 42 Florida campuses on this site, Florida State College at Jacksonville ranks number 19 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Florida table.
Other campuses in Jacksonville
- Jacksonville University: 3,474 full-time, 1,540 beds
- University of North Florida: 11,334 full-time, 3,485 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 23,556 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 20,530 |
| Full-time students | 7,051 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 23,556 (7,051) |
| Graduate students | 0 |
| Exclusively online | 38% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | 55 |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 55 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 0.8 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | $7,200 |
| Typical food charge, academic year | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | $8,496 |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | $8,946 |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | No |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 133702. Duval County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.