Public · Fort Myers, FL

Florida SouthWestern State College

5,303 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 396: about 7.5 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 4,907 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

396 college-controlled beds (7.5 per 100 full-time) 4,907 full-time students beyond them
14,301total students, fall 2024
5,303full-time
$7,060typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$14,251aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 14,301 students enrolled in fall 2024, 14,301 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 30% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 441 from fall 2023 (+3.2%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 396 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 6 beds from the year before (402 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $7,060 for the academic year, roughly $784 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $11,185 for food and housing on campus and $14,251 for a student living off campus away from family, $3,066 more.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

Most students here aren't full-time, so the campus misses the "majority full-time" test that comes with the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 42 Florida campuses on this site, Florida SouthWestern State College ranks number 26 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Florida table.

Other campuses in Fort Myers

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202414,301
Total enrollment, fall 202313,860
Full-time students5,303
Undergraduates (full-time)14,301 (5,303)
Graduate students0
Exclusively online30%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25396
Capacity, 2023-24402
Beds per 100 full-time students7.5
Typical housing charge, academic year$7,060
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$11,185
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$14,251
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 133508. Lee County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.