Private nonprofit · New Haven, CT
Yale University
15,121 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 5,576: about 36.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 9,545 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.
Enrollment
Of 15,564 students enrolled in fall 2024, 6,814 were undergraduates and 8,750 graduate students. 0% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 483 from fall 2023 (+3.2%).
Housing the college controls
IPEDS counts 5,576 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24. The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.
What students pay
The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $11,300 for the academic year, roughly $1,256 a month spread over nine months. Food added $8,600.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
With 15,564 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 12 Connecticut campuses on this site, Yale University ranks number 2 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Connecticut table.
Other campuses in New Haven
- Southern Connecticut State University: 6,482 full-time, 1,907 beds
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 15,564 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 15,081 |
| Full-time students | 15,121 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 6,814 (6,753) |
| Graduate students | 8,750 |
| Exclusively online | 0% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | 5,576 |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 5,576 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 36.9 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | $11,300 |
| Typical food charge, academic year | $8,600 |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | $19,900 |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | not reported |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | Yes |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 130794. South Central Connecticut Planning Region. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.