Private nonprofit · Middletown, CT

Wesleyan University

3,199 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 2,988: about 93.4 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 211 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

2,988 college-controlled beds (93.4 per 100 full-time) 211 full-time students beyond them
4,011total students, fall 2024
3,199full-time
$19,872combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$19,872aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 4,011 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,805 were undergraduates and 206 graduate students. 17% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 740 from fall 2023 (+22.6%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 2,988 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 1 beds from the year before (2,989 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $19,872 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $19,872 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 4,011 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 12 Connecticut campuses on this site, Wesleyan University ranks number 12 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Connecticut table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20244,011
Total enrollment, fall 20233,271
Full-time students3,199
Undergraduates (full-time)3,805 (3,064)
Graduate students206
Exclusively online17%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-252,988
Capacity, 2023-242,989
Beds per 100 full-time students93.4
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$19,872
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$19,872
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$19,872

IPEDS unit ID 130697. Lower Connecticut River Valley Planning Region. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.