Public · USAF Academy, CO

United States Air Force Academy

4,114 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,200: about 102.1 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other -86 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

4,200 college-controlled beds (102.1 per 100 full-time) 0 full-time students beyond them
4,114total students, fall 2024
4,114full-time
n/ano 2024-25 housing charge reported
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 4,114 students enrolled in fall 2024, 4,114 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 0% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 70 from fall 2023 (−1.7%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 4,200 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24. The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

No housing charges were reported for 2024-25.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 4,114 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 14 Colorado campuses on this site, United States Air Force Academy ranks number 14 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Colorado table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20244,114
Total enrollment, fall 20234,184
Full-time students4,114
Undergraduates (full-time)4,114 (4,114)
Graduate students0
Exclusively online0%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-254,200
Capacity, 2023-244,200
Beds per 100 full-time students102.1
Typical housing charge, academic year$0
Typical food charge, academic year$0
Aid budget, food and housing on campusnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 128328. El Paso County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.