Private nonprofit · Stanford, CA

Stanford University

17,232 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 14,488: about 84.1 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,744 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

14,488 college-controlled beds (84.1 per 100 full-time) 2,744 full-time students beyond them
18,625total students, fall 2024
17,232full-time
$13,590typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 18,625 students enrolled in fall 2024, 7,904 were undergraduates and 10,721 graduate students. 2% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 179 from fall 2023 (+1.0%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 14,488 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 73 beds from the year before (14,415 in 2023-24). The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $13,590 for the academic year, roughly $1,510 a month spread over nine months. Food added $7,735.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 18,625 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 71 California campuses on this site, Stanford University ranks number 63 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the California table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202418,625
Total enrollment, fall 202318,446
Full-time students17,232
Undergraduates (full-time)7,904 (7,554)
Graduate students10,721
Exclusively online2%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-2514,488
Capacity, 2023-2414,415
Beds per 100 full-time students84.1
Typical housing charge, academic year$13,590
Typical food charge, academic year$7,735
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$21,315
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 243744. Santa Clara County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.