Private nonprofit · Loma Linda, CA

Loma Linda University

3,457 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 510: about 14.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,947 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

510 college-controlled beds (14.8 per 100 full-time) 2,947 full-time students beyond them
4,210total students, fall 2024
3,457full-time
$5,300typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 4,210 students enrolled in fall 2024, 1,024 were undergraduates and 3,186 graduate students. 14% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 8 from fall 2023 (+0.2%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 510 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $5,300 for the academic year, roughly $589 a month spread over nine months.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 4,210 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 71 California campuses on this site, Loma Linda University ranks number 61 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the California table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20244,210
Total enrollment, fall 20234,202
Full-time students3,457
Undergraduates (full-time)1,024 (790)
Graduate students3,186
Exclusively online14%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25510
Capacity, 2023-24510
Beds per 100 full-time students14.8
Typical housing charge, academic year$5,300
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campusnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 117636. San Bernardino County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.