Public · Bellingham, WA

Western Washington University

13,112 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,184: about 31.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 8,928 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

4,184 college-controlled beds (31.9 per 100 full-time) 8,928 full-time students beyond them
14,710total students, fall 2024
13,112full-time
$15,629combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$15,747aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 14,710 students enrolled in fall 2024, 13,752 were undergraduates and 958 graduate students. 2% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 59 from fall 2023 (+0.4%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 4,184 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 12 beds from the year before (4,196 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $15,629 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $15,747 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 14,710 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 20 Washington campuses on this site, Western Washington University ranks number 3 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Washington table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202414,710
Total enrollment, fall 202314,651
Full-time students13,112
Undergraduates (full-time)13,752 (12,420)
Graduate students958
Exclusively online2%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-254,184
Capacity, 2023-244,196
Beds per 100 full-time students31.9
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$15,747
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$15,747
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$15,629

IPEDS unit ID 237011. Whatcom County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.