Public · Bremerton, WA

Olympic College

3,695 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 85: about 2.3 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,610 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

85 college-controlled beds (2.3 per 100 full-time) 3,610 full-time students beyond them
5,784total students, fall 2024
3,695full-time
$6,500typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$10,800aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 5,784 students enrolled in fall 2024, 5,784 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 24% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 371 from fall 2023 (+6.9%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 85 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 3 beds from the year before (88 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $6,500 for the academic year, roughly $722 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $10,500 for food and housing on campus and $10,800 for a student living off campus away from family, $300 more.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 5,784 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 20 Washington campuses on this site, Olympic College ranks number 15 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Washington table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20245,784
Total enrollment, fall 20235,413
Full-time students3,695
Undergraduates (full-time)5,784 (3,695)
Graduate students0
Exclusively online24%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-2585
Capacity, 2023-2488
Beds per 100 full-time students2.3
Typical housing charge, academic year$6,500
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$10,500
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$10,800
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 236188. Kitsap County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.