Public · Pasco, WA

Columbia Basin College

4,099 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 126: about 3.1 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 3,973 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

126 college-controlled beds (3.1 per 100 full-time) 3,973 full-time students beyond them
7,510total students, fall 2024
4,099full-time
$8,400typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$12,410aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 7,510 students enrolled in fall 2024, 7,510 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 30% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 781 from fall 2023 (+11.6%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 126 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $8,400 for the academic year, roughly $933 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $11,222 for food and housing on campus and $12,410 for a student living off campus away from family, $1,188 more.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 7,510 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 20 Washington campuses on this site, Columbia Basin College ranks number 11 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Washington table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20247,510
Total enrollment, fall 20236,729
Full-time students4,099
Undergraduates (full-time)7,510 (4,099)
Graduate students0
Exclusively online30%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25126
Capacity, 2023-24126
Beds per 100 full-time students3.1
Typical housing charge, academic year$8,400
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$11,222
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$12,410
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 234979. Franklin County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.