Public · Bellevue, WA

Bellevue College

6,446 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 363: about 5.6 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 6,083 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

363 college-controlled beds (5.6 per 100 full-time) 6,083 full-time students beyond them
12,485total students, fall 2024
6,446full-time
$12,648typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
$17,310aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 12,485 students enrolled in fall 2024, 12,485 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 39% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 1,013 from fall 2023 (+8.8%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 363 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $12,648 for the academic year, roughly $1,405 a month spread over nine months. For aid purposes the school budgets $17,310 for food and housing on campus and $17,310 for a student living off campus away from family, the same amount.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 12,485 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 20 Washington campuses on this site, Bellevue College ranks number 5 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Washington table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202412,485
Total enrollment, fall 202311,472
Full-time students6,446
Undergraduates (full-time)12,485 (6,446)
Graduate students0
Exclusively online39%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25363
Capacity, 2023-24363
Beds per 100 full-time students5.6
Typical housing charge, academic year$12,648
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$17,310
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$17,310
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 234669. King County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.