Public · Murfreesboro, TN

Middle Tennessee State University

15,122 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 2,809: about 18.6 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 12,313 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

2,809 college-controlled beds (18.6 per 100 full-time) 12,313 full-time students beyond them
20,488total students, fall 2024
15,122full-time
$12,242combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$12,208aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 20,488 students enrolled in fall 2024, 18,042 were undergraduates and 2,446 graduate students. 15% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 305 from fall 2023 (+1.5%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 2,809 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 291 beds from the year before (2,518 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $12,242 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $12,208 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 20,488 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 13 Tennessee campuses on this site, Middle Tennessee State University ranks number 2 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Tennessee table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202420,488
Total enrollment, fall 202320,183
Full-time students15,122
Undergraduates (full-time)18,042 (14,189)
Graduate students2,446
Exclusively online15%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-252,809
Capacity, 2023-242,518
Beds per 100 full-time students18.6
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$12,242
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$12,208
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$12,242

IPEDS unit ID 220978. Rutherford County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.