Private nonprofit · Saint Paul, MN

Concordia University-Saint Paul

4,574 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 525: about 11.5 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 4,049 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

525 college-controlled beds (11.5 per 100 full-time) 4,049 full-time students beyond them
6,003total students, fall 2024
4,574full-time
$13,932combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$13,932aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 6,003 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,424 were undergraduates and 2,579 graduate students. 46% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 149 from fall 2023 (+2.5%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 525 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 5 beds from the year before (520 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $13,932 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $13,932 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 6,003 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 9 Minnesota campuses on this site, Concordia University-Saint Paul ranks number 5 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Minnesota table.

Other campuses in Saint Paul

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20246,003
Total enrollment, fall 20235,854
Full-time students4,574
Undergraduates (full-time)3,424 (2,392)
Graduate students2,579
Exclusively online46%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25525
Capacity, 2023-24520
Beds per 100 full-time students11.5
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$13,932
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$13,932
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$13,932

IPEDS unit ID 173328. Ramsey County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.