Private nonprofit · Springfield, MA

Western New England University

3,259 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 2,016: about 61.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 1,243 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

2,016 college-controlled beds (61.9 per 100 full-time) 1,243 full-time students beyond them
3,674total students, fall 2024
3,259full-time
$15,570combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$8,410aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 3,674 students enrolled in fall 2024, 2,616 were undergraduates and 1,058 graduate students. 7% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 100 from fall 2023 (+2.8%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 2,016 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 137 beds from the year before (2,153 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $15,570 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $8,410 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 3,674 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 28 Massachusetts campuses on this site, Western New England University ranks number 25 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Massachusetts table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20243,674
Total enrollment, fall 20233,574
Full-time students3,259
Undergraduates (full-time)2,616 (2,543)
Graduate students1,058
Exclusively online7%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-252,016
Capacity, 2023-242,153
Beds per 100 full-time students61.9
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$15,570
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$8,410
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$15,570

IPEDS unit ID 168254. Hampden County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.