Public · Salem, MA

Salem State University

4,271 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 1,656: about 38.8 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,615 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

1,656 college-controlled beds (38.8 per 100 full-time) 2,615 full-time students beyond them
6,230total students, fall 2024
4,271full-time
$16,838combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$12,100aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 6,230 students enrolled in fall 2024, 4,867 were undergraduates and 1,363 graduate students. 13% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 9 from fall 2023 (−0.1%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 1,656 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 19 beds from the year before (1,675 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $16,838 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $12,100 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 6,230 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 28 Massachusetts campuses on this site, Salem State University ranks number 15 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Massachusetts table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20246,230
Total enrollment, fall 20236,239
Full-time students4,271
Undergraduates (full-time)4,867 (3,758)
Graduate students1,363
Exclusively online13%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-251,656
Capacity, 2023-241,675
Beds per 100 full-time students38.8
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$16,838
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$12,100
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$16,838

IPEDS unit ID 167729. Essex County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.