Private nonprofit · Cambridge, MA

Harvard University

20,814 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 14,290: about 68.7 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 6,524 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

14,290 college-controlled beds (68.7 per 100 full-time) 6,524 full-time students beyond them
30,259total students, fall 2024
20,814full-time
$12,922typical housing charge, 2024-25 academic year
n/aaid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 30,259 students enrolled in fall 2024, 8,844 were undergraduates and 21,415 graduate students. 25% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount fell by 127 from fall 2023 (−0.4%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 14,290 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity shrank by 54 beds from the year before (14,344 in 2023-24). The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.

What students pay

The typical 2024-25 housing charge for a student sharing a room was $12,922 for the academic year, roughly $1,436 a month spread over nine months. Food added $8,268.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

With 30,259 students, most of them full-time, the campus clears the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01, effective September 28, 2026). Under sections 103.01 and 103.03 a property still has to sit within 2 miles of the campus boundary or near a college-run transit line, have operated a full school year, and lease at least 80% of units for 12 months.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 28 Massachusetts campuses on this site, Harvard University ranks number 7 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Massachusetts table.

Other campuses in Cambridge

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 202430,259
Total enrollment, fall 202330,386
Full-time students20,814
Undergraduates (full-time)8,844 (7,243)
Graduate students21,415
Exclusively online25%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-2514,290
Capacity, 2023-2414,344
Beds per 100 full-time students68.7
Typical housing charge, academic year$12,922
Typical food charge, academic year$8,268
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$21,190
Aid budget, food and housing off campusnot reported
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingYes
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)not reported

IPEDS unit ID 166027. Middlesex County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.