Public · Annapolis, MD
United States Naval Academy
4,474 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 4,667: about 104.3 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other -193 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.
Enrollment
Of 4,474 students enrolled in fall 2024, 4,474 were undergraduates and 0 graduate students. 0% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 9 from fall 2023 (+0.2%).
Housing the college controls
IPEDS counts 4,667 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity was the same in 2023-24. The school requires all full-time, first-time students to live in college housing, so the first-year class fills a known share of those beds every fall.
What students pay
No housing charges were reported for 2024-25.
Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.
How lenders read a campus like this
At 4,474 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.
To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.
Among the 10 Maryland campuses on this site, United States Naval Academy ranks number 10 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Maryland table.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Total enrollment, fall 2024 | 4,474 |
| Total enrollment, fall 2023 | 4,465 |
| Full-time students | 4,474 |
| Undergraduates (full-time) | 4,474 (4,474) |
| Graduate students | 0 |
| Exclusively online | 0% |
| College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-25 | 4,667 |
| Capacity, 2023-24 | 4,667 |
| Beds per 100 full-time students | 104.3 |
| Typical housing charge, academic year | $0 |
| Typical food charge, academic year | $0 |
| Aid budget, food and housing on campus | not reported |
| Aid budget, food and housing off campus | not reported |
| All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housing | Yes |
| Combined food and housing charge (if not split) | not reported |
IPEDS unit ID 164155. Anne Arundel County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.