Private nonprofit · Biddeford, ME

University of New England

4,427 full-time students in fall 2024 and college-controlled housing for 1,546: about 34.9 beds for every 100 full-time students. The other 2,881 live somewhere the college doesn't control. That is the outer edge of the private market, before you take out commuters and students living with family.

1,546 college-controlled beds (34.9 per 100 full-time) 2,881 full-time students beyond them
6,573total students, fall 2024
4,427full-time
$18,000combined food and housing charge, 2024-25 (not split)
$13,860aid office off-campus food and housing budget

Enrollment

Of 6,573 students enrolled in fall 2024, 3,884 were undergraduates and 2,689 graduate students. 44% studied exclusively online, students who don't need a bed near campus. Headcount rose by 100 from fall 2023 (+1.5%).

Housing the college controls

IPEDS counts 1,546 beds of institutionally controlled housing for 2024-25. That figure is the school's own capacity, on or off campus, so it includes halls the college leases or manages but not private buildings that simply market to students. Capacity grew by 12 beds from the year before (1,534 in 2023-24).

What students pay

The school can't split food from housing, so it reports one combined 2024-25 charge: $18,000 for the academic year. Its aid office budgets $13,860 for food and housing for a student living off campus away from family.

Those are the college's own figures. Private by-the-bed rents near campus can sit well above or below them, so check current asking rents before you underwrite a project.

How lenders read a campus like this

At 6,573 students the campus is below the 10,000-student minimum in Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide for Dedicated Student Housing (Part III, Chapter 1, section 103.01). Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor, but its own product summary says most of its student housing loans are at schools with 15,000 or more students. Banks, debt funds and conventional multifamily programs are the likelier lenders here.

To size a specific property, use the student housing loan sizer. It works by the bed and shows which constraint sets the loan.

Among the 3 Maine campuses on this site, University of New England ranks number 2 by full-time students beyond college housing. See the Maine table.

Source: Fall 2024 enrollment, IPEDS DRVEF2024 (provisional release, December 2025); 2024-25 housing capacity and charges, IPEDS COST1_2024 (December 2025); IPEDS HD2025 directory (July 2026). Beds per 100 and the gap are arithmetic on those figures.
MeasureValue
Total enrollment, fall 20246,573
Total enrollment, fall 20236,473
Full-time students4,427
Undergraduates (full-time)3,884 (2,148)
Graduate students2,689
Exclusively online44%
College-controlled housing capacity, 2024-251,546
Capacity, 2023-241,534
Beds per 100 full-time students34.9
Typical housing charge, academic yearnot reported
Typical food charge, academic yearnot reported
Aid budget, food and housing on campus$18,000
Aid budget, food and housing off campus$13,860
All first-time, full-time students required to live in college housingNo
Combined food and housing charge (if not split)$18,000

IPEDS unit ID 161457. York County. School website. Figures are as the institution reported them to the National Center for Education Statistics. The live-on question asks whether every first-time, full-time student must live in college housing; a school with exemptions or a later-year requirement can answer no. How this data is built.