Fannie Mae vs Freddie Mac student housing loans, side by side
Both agencies lend on student housing, and they draw the lines in different places. Fannie Mae sets a hard campus-size floor and bans food service. Freddie Mac has no stated enrollment floor but publishes its LTV and DSCR grid and a pre-leasing reserve.
| Rule | Fannie Mae | Freddie Mac |
|---|---|---|
| What counts as student housing | “Dedicated” if 80% or more of units are leased to students; 40% to under 80% is a “Student Housing Property” | Purpose-built for students, or a conventional property with more than 50% student tenants |
| Campus size | At least 10,000 students, the majority full-time | No stated floor; its summary says most of its student business is at schools with 15,000+ |
| Distance | Within 2 miles of the campus boundary, or near a college-sponsored transit line | Under 2 miles, or on a public transportation route |
| Operating history | At least 1 full school year | Primarily stabilized properties; no stated minimum history |
| Food service | Not allowed in Dedicated Student Housing | Residence-hall buildings with meal plans or shared baths are ineligible |
| Leases | At least 80% of units on 12-month leases | 12-month leases required, with an exception after two leasing cycles at the required DSCR |
| Parental guarantees | Expected: a parental guarantee or documented tenant means to pay | Required unless the risk is mitigated another way |
| By-the-bed income | Allowed with 2 years of operating statements kept by the bed | Not addressed in the summary |
| Max LTV / min DSCR | Not stated in the current Guide sections | 75% / 1.30x (5-7 years), 80% / 1.30x (over 7 years), lower for full-term interest only |
| Replacement reserves | Not stated in the sections cited | At least $300 a unit or $150 a bed |
Sources: Fannie Mae Multifamily Selling and Servicing Guide, Part III, Chapter 1, sections 101-104, effective September 28, 2026. Freddie Mac Multifamily “Student Housing” product summary, data as of December 31, 2025.
Campus size: Fannie’s hard floor
Fannie Mae’s 10,000-student floor is a bright line, and “majority full-time” matters as much as the headcount. A commuter campus with 14,000 students, most of them part-time, fails it. You can check both numbers on any campus page, which shows fall 2024 total and full-time enrollment from IPEDS.
Freddie Mac’s summary is softer on paper. It says it focuses on schools with rising enrollment and on sponsors with a student housing track record, and that it weighs new supply and distance to campus. With no stated floor, a 9,000-student campus isn’t ruled out at Freddie on size alone.
LTV and DSCR
Freddie Mac publishes the grid; Fannie Mae’s Guide sections on student housing don’t. Freddie’s student loans carry an extra 0.05x of DSCR compared with its conventional multifamily loans, which is why its grid starts at 1.30x. Whether that DSCR floor or the LTV sets the loan depends on the property’s cap rate and your rate. Run your property through the loan sizer with the rate you’ve been quoted and you’ll see which test binds.
What neither agency wants
Dorm-style buildings with meal plans and shared bathrooms sit outside both programs. So do properties far from campus without transit. Properties on college-owned land can work with Fannie Mae, but the key principal needs at least five years of Dedicated Student Housing experience and must already run another property on college land.
If a deal misses the agency box, banks, life companies and debt funds are the next calls. The Janover Capital desk can tell you which ones are lending near a given campus.
Common questions
Does Fannie Mae lend on student housing near a small college?
Not as Dedicated Student Housing. Fannie Mae's Guide requires a campus of at least 10,000 students, most of them full-time. A property near a smaller school would need to qualify as conventional multifamily instead.
What is Freddie Mac's maximum LTV on student housing?
Freddie Mac's summary, with data as of December 31, 2025, shows 75% for 5- to 7-year amortizing loans and 80% for terms over 7 years, both at a 1.30x minimum DSCR. Full-term interest-only drops those to 65% and 70%.